tw fb yt pf
Today is January 27, 2015





National Car Rental

Weather for Rocky Hill, CT
Tuesday January 27 03:02pm EST
22° F

Humidity: 64%
Wind: NNW 7.0 mph



William Flood Jr. Elected 34th President of the Connecticut Section PGA

Ian Marshall Elected Vice President and John Steffen Elected Secretary

NORTH STONINGTON, Conn. (December 2, 2104) - William Flood Jr., Head PGA Professional of Rock Ridge Country Club was elected the 34th President of the Connecticut Section PGA during the Section's 81st Annual Fall Meeting at Lake of Isles. Flood succeeds Mike O’Grady of Lake Waramaug Country Club who will serve on the Connecticut Section PGA Board of Directors as Honorary President. Succeeding Flood as Vice President is Ian Marshall of Watertown Golf Club who served the past two years as Secretary.  John Steffen of Twin Hills Country Club was elected to serve a two-year term as Secretary.


There were 149 attendees at the meeting, including 137 PGA Professionals, 127 of whom were voting members. The voting delegates also elected and welcomed two new members to the section Board of Directors and recognized four newly elected members to The PGA of America.


Mr. Tom Baptist, City of Hartford Superintendent of Department of Public Works, reported on the progress that has been made in the consulting agreement between the Connecticut Section and the City of Hartford, including the hiring of the City golf course operators, Guilmette Golf and Cloud 9 Golf. Goodwin Park Golf Course opened this summer and the restoration of Keney Park Golf Course has been started.


PGA of America District 1 Director Donnie Lyons reported on the new strategic plan and the long-term digital strategy. He touched on the upcoming Centennial Celebration, PGA Junior Golf Camps, and Disaster Relief Funding.


President O’Grady was honored to introduce Suzy Whaley as the newly elected Secretary of The PGA of America. Whaley is the first officer of the Association from the Connecticut Section. She thanked all those who assisted on her campaign and expressed her desire and passion to work for the enhancement of PGA Membership and to grow the game in significant ways.

View More

Derek Sprague Elected 39th President of the PGA of America

Delegates Vote Paul Levy Vice President, Suzy Whaley Secretary

INDIANAPOLIS – (November 22, 2014) Derek Sprague of Malone, New York, was elected the 39th President of the PGA of America today at the Association's 98th Annual Meeting in Indianapolis. Sprague is the PGA General Manager and Director of Golf at Malone Golf Club. Elected to PGA membership in 1993, Sprague has held leadership roles at both the National and Section PGA levels since 1998. Sprague previously served as PGA Secretary from 2010-12, and as Vice President from 2012 until Oct. 24, 2014, when he was named PGA Interim President. He also previously served as the District 1 Director on the National PGA Board from 2007-10.

Succeeding Sprague as Vice President is Paul Levy of Indian Wells, California, who served the past two years as Secretary and held the roles of Secretary and Interim Vice President from Oct. 24, 2014 until today.

Suzy Whaley of Farmington, Connecticut, was elected Secretary. Sprague, Levy and Whaley will each serve two-year terms.


(See Connecticut Section facebook for photos and videos from the Connecticut Section delegation and Suzy Whaley campaign).

View More

Allied Associations

Connecticut State Golf Association



Connecticut Association of Golf Course Superintendents

Connecticut Club Managers' Association

Connecticut Womens Golf Association

Executive Womens Golf Association

Massachusetts Golf Association

Southern New England Womens Golf Association

The First Tee of Connecticut

The Travelers Championship


The PGA of America